WDA’s Annual D...

WDA’s Annual Defender Conference Award Winners for 2021

Please congratulate this year’s WDA Defender Conference Award Recipients and join us for our virtual awards ceremony on Wednesday, May 19 at 4:00 PM! Although we are unable to meet in Winthrop this year for our annual gathering, it is still important to recognize the achievements of these amazing defenders and community organizers. To receive information on how to join the awards ceremony and this year’s virtual Defender Conference and Awards Ceremony – click here!

This year’s award winners are…

Eric Broman, President’s Award in recognition of his lifelong work.

Francis Adewale, President’s Award for his outstanding achievements as a public defender and his assistance to the City of Spokane’s most vulnerable populations.

Brenda Rodriguez Lopez, Monserrat Padilla and the Washington Immigrant Solidarity Network, President’s Award for their outstanding work with the immigrant community and their partnership with public defenders

Jason Schwarz, Amy Muth, Katrin Johnson, President’s Award for their work on behalf of the defender community during the COVID crisis.

Certificates of recognition:

Jennifer Serafin for her work as an attorney with less than 5 years’ experience.

ABC Law Group for their advocacy and creation of the new Family Intervention Response to Stop Trauma (FIRST) Legal Clinic.

Mary Swift for her extraordinary efforts in State v. Mayfield.

Elbert Aull for his extraordinary work in State v. Guinn.

Alek Johnson for her leadership on the Bail Jump bill.

We are so happy to be able to recognize the extraordinary work of these defenders and we hope you can join us so you can as well. And don’t forget to join us for the Defender Conference on May 20th and 21st too!